Today is October 18, 2017
Today is October 18, 2017


2nd Sarihay Media Awards: The Winners List

Posted on August 26, 2016

The winners of the 2nd Sarihay Media Awards

The Foundation for the Philippine Environment (FPE) awarded the winners of the 2nd Sarihay Media Awards today, August 26, 2016, at the Microtel-Technohub, Quezon City.

The 2nd Sarihay Media Awards, first launched by FPE in 2014, recognizes the power and influence of the media in promoting public awareness and a deeper understanding of the links between environment and sustainable development.

From the 2014 campaign, which drew a total of 81 entries from various print, broadcast, and online media outfits, 189 total entries were submitted for the 2nd Sarihay Media Awards, 38 finalists recognized, and a total of 13 winners awarded. Entrants from  the regions also increased from 5 last year, to 14 this year. 

The word “Sarihay” was coined from the phrase, “samu’t saring buhay,” or diversity of life.

“Sarihay, from the phrase samu’t saring buhay,” shares Dr. Paciencia P. Milan, FPE CEO and Chairperson in her opening remarks, is “exactly what [we] FPE and its partners, and environmental champions in the media, are working to conserve and protect.”  |   Keynote speaker, director of DENR’s Biodiversity Management Bureau, Dr. Theresa Mundita S. Lim, expresses her gratitude, and encourages more partners for the environment in media today

The entries were screened by the technical review committee, composed of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) – Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB) and Strategic Communication Initiatives Services (SCIS), Tanggol Kalikasan, Philippine Tropical Forest Conservation Foundation (PTFCF), and Miriam College Environmental Studies Institute (ESI), and judged by Dr. Theresa Mundita S. Lim (DENR-BMB), Ms. Ma. Sabrina R. Cruz (DENR-SCIS), Atty. Marina Rabe-Manuel (Tanggol Kalikasan), Atty. Jose Andres Canivel (PTFCF), Ms. Anabelle Plantilla (Miriam ESI), and Mr. Severino Sarmenta (Ateneo de Manila University - Department of Communications) and Mr. Fernando Esguerra, Jr. (Globe Telecom Corporate Communications).

Winners were selected based on their relevance to the field of biodiversity conservation and sustainable development, content and substance, style and creativity of presentation, and the overall reach and perceived impact of the entries to their respective target audiences.

In the closing remarks, Dr. Lourdes Simpol, Chairperson of FPE’s Knowledge Management Board Committee, and Director of the Ateneo de Davao University’s Tropical Institute for Climate Studies (TropICS), remains hopeful, reiterating the value of single voices speaking out --  “Even if we are the minority, at least we know we are more than one and our numbers can grow.” 

The 2nd Sarihay Media Awards Winners


  1. Best News Story (National) - Ugly scars left behind by miners overshadow development by Jonathan Mayuga,  Business Mirror
  2. Best News Story (Regional) - Pamana's tragic end by Jesse Pizarro Boga,  Mindanao Times
  3. Best Investigative Report - An Alarming Paradox by Marie Antonette Pamaran, Hinge Inquirer Publications
  4. Best Feature Story - Saving Danjugan Island by Jonathan Mayuga, Business Mirror
  5. Best Commentary / Editorial Article - What mining destroys by Rita Linda Jimeno, The Standard
  6. Best Editorial Cartoon - Need for a new dump site by Josua S. Cabrera, Sun.Star Cebu


  1. Best Photo Essay - Home sweet home by Alex Badayos, Sun.Star Cebu


  1. Best TV News Report (National) - Mangrove forest in garbage dumps by Hon Sophia Balod, GMA News Channel
  2. Best TV Documentary - Kaya ng Basura by KAYA, TV5
  3. Best TV Magazine Program Pamana by Matanglawin, ABS-CBN


  1. Best Radio Commentary - National Greening Program & the magic of Mycorrhizae, Dr. Custer C. Deocaris, Eagle Broadcasting Station-Radyo Agila


  1. Best Online Commentary - Zero: Saving lives by Sara Pacia & Matikas Santos,
  2. Best Online Video Documentary - Para-enforcer by Johndel Semilla & Alvin Veri, Manila Bulletin

The winners were awarded the Sarihay trophy, entitled, "Nurturing Life Together," by Ms. Yvette Co, a visual artist based in Los Baños, Laguna.

 The “Nurturing Life Together” trophy features the hands of a man and a woman carefully clasped together to form a nest for a tiny bird, leaned against a leaf and nestled among scraps of driftwood. Ms. Co collaborates with local artisans in utilizing natural resources to communicate environmental conservation.

Winners also received a cash prize, and will join FPE in an exposure trip to one of the Foundation's conservation project sites later this year.

The Sarihay Media Awards is organized in partnership with Tanggol Kalikasan, Philippine Tropical Forest Conservation Foundation, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources – Biodiversity Management Bureau and Strategic Communication Initiative Services, and Miriam College Environmental Studies Institute

The Sarihay Media Awards accepts submissions for entries published or aired from January to December of the previous year. Submissions for the 3rd Sarihay Media Awards will open in early 2017.

e-News Bulletin Join our mailing list today, and be ready for our next action alert. Enter a valid email address Enter your email address to receive regular news updates and announcements from FPE.