Today is June 18, 2024
Today is June 18, 2024


FPE Congratulates Newly Sworn-in BOT Officers and Members

Posted on July 25, 2012


Mr. Nestor R. Carbonera delivering his acceptance speech after being sworn-in as as the new Chair and CEO of the FPE on July 19, 2012 at the Cocoon Boutique Hotel, Quezon City.


Mr. Nestor R. Carbonera, a Trustee of the Foundation for the Philippine Environment (FPE) since 2010, is now the new Chair and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Foundation. He took the oath of office during the FPE Turnover of Leadership Ceremony on July 19, 2012 at the Cocoon Boutique Hotel in Quezon City.

Currently, Mr. Carbonera is the Executive Director of the Xavier University Agriculture Extension Office in Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay. Active in NGO circles and government-NGO bodies, he has been serving as Chair of the Philippine Partnership for the Development of Human Resources in Rural Areas (PhilDHRRA) Mindanao since 2005, and Co-Chair of the Provincial Development Council of Zamboanga Sibugay. He has been wearing two hats in the Regional Development Council of Region 9: as member of its Executive Committee since 2001 and Vice-Chair of its Social Development Committee. In 1997, he was given a Bayaning Pilipino of the Year Award by the ABS-CBN Foundation. Mr. Carbonera obtained a Master of Arts degree in Extension Administration at the Silliman University following his Bachelor of Science in Agriculture major in Agronomy at the Xavier University.

FPE BOT Officers, from left to right: Mr. Nestor R. Carbonera (Chair and CEO), Arch. Socorro B. Atega (Vice Chair), Atty. Rose E. Liza Osorio (Secretary), Mrs. Vilma B. Joson (Treasurer), and Dr. JessieB. Manuta (Auditor).

FPE Permanent Members Ms. Alma Monica A. dela Paz and Fr. Eliseo M. Mercado Jr. sworn-in Mr. Carbonera as Chair of the BOT together with the following newly elected officers: Architect Socorro B. Atega, Voluntary Executive Director of the Cebu Uniting for Sustainable Water, as Vice Chair; Mrs. Vilma B. Joson, President of Kababaihang Masigla ng Nueva Ecija (KMNE), as Treasurer; Dr. Jessie B. Manuta, Academic Vice President of the Ateneo de Davao University, as Auditor; and Atty. Rose Liza E. Osorio, Executive Director of the Coastal Conservation and Education Foundation, Inc., as Secretary.

They will serve as FPE BOT Officers for two consecutive years until a new set of Trustees is elected in 2014.

Joining them as new members of the Board are the following:

Fr. Edwin A. Gariguez (Luzon Representative) – Executive Secretary and Country Program Head, National Secretariat for Social Action (NASSA); Founding President, Communication for Evangelization and Development Center (CEDC); Member and Convenor, Alyansa Tigil Mina; and, Co-Convenor, Philippine Misereor Partnership, Inc.

Bishop Crispin B. Varquez (Visayas Representative) – Bishop of Borongan, Eastern Samar; Vicar General of the Diocese of Tagbilaran, 2007; Formator, Immaculate Heart of Mary Seminary, Tagbilaran, 1996-2000; and, Parish Priest of Panglao, Bohol, 1995-1996.

Dr. Filemon G. Romero (Mindanao Representative) – Vice President for Mindanao, Philippine Association of Marine Science; President, Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands (SCPW); Associate Member, American Society for Limnology and Oceanography; Associate Member, Philippine Association for Physics Instructors; and, Professor of Oceanography and Environmental Science in Mindanao State University – Tawi-Tawi College of Technology and Oceanography.

Dr. Grace V. Rebollos (Member-at-Large) – SUC President III, Western Mindanao State University; Governing Council Member, Philippine Council for Health Research and Development, DOST, 2006-2010; Chair, Zamboanga Consortium for Health Research and Development, 2007-2011; and, Member, GRP Panel in Peace Negotiations with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front, 2010.

Atty. Rose Liza E. Osorio (Member-at-Large) – Executive Director, Coastal Conservation and Education Foundation, Inc.; Faculty Member, College of Law of University of Cebu; Administrator, Legal Environmental Advocacy Programme (LEAP), College of Law, Silliman University, 1996-2001; and, Governance/ Institutional Specialist, End-of-Project Evaluation of Environmental Governance Phase 2 (EcoGov2) Project of USAID-Philippines.




e-News Bulletin Join our mailing list today, and be ready for our next action alert. Enter a valid email address Enter your email address to receive regular news updates and announcements from FPE.